Evil Sovereign – first riding impressions

Since I bought the evil sovereign frame a couple weeks back and mostly build it up with the parts of my old bike, quite a few things changed on it and – more importantly – I got a couple hours riding in. Here’s what I think after 19 hours and 240 kilometer of riding it.

The first build which I rode 2 times used heavy dual ply tyres for muddy conditions but still rode quite well with them. On the everyday trailride I hardly had to adjust my riding compared to my full suspension bike. With the (for a hardtail) rather slack head angle of 67° and the low frame, it’s a true beast running down the hill. Going up however, it’s a totally different story. I still can’t believe how easy it is to get up the hill on this bike. Most likely on any hardtail that’s not specifically built for dirt jumping… but this is the first one I’ve ridden on trails. As I said in the first posting, a few parts needed changing, so here’s the changed parts list:

  • Saddle Saddle: WTB Pure V Selle Italia NT1
  • Seatpost: FSA Gap 420mm Gravity Dropper Turbo
  • Bars: Nox Crook Nukeproof Warhead 760/20
  • Pedals: NC 17 STD I Superstar Components Nano Tech Flats
  • Front tyre: Maxxis Swampthing 2.5 2ply Maxxis High Roller 2.35
  • Rear tyre: Maxxis Minion R 2.5 2ply Maxxis Minion R 2.35

With the less weighty tyres for current dry conditions, the flat pedals (roughly 1cm less thick) and the dropper post, the bike’s performance improved massively. It rolls so fast, accelerates amazingly quickly and due to the dropper post, never needs stopping for saddle height adjustment. It’s very agile in corners, likes jumping on every natural lip of the trail and still goes up hill like there was no tomorrow. Three words: I’m blown away.

To be honest, I had expected this bike to be more of an experiment than to become the main bike I want to ride all day, but I’m already thinking about changing all the “good” parts like the light wheels and cranks from my full suspension bike to the Sov. It feels so natural to me, so perfectly fitting, it feels like “my” bike. Couldn’t be more happy with it.

Leave a Reply

