New bike: Evil Sovereign

I often look at the gallery threads on IBC and enjoy the insane builds some people create. About a month ago, I stumbled upon this beauty of an evil sovereign. I instantly started looking around for details on that frame but once I found that it costs more than 700 bucks, the “project” immediately died before it could really grow.

Another thread I also frequently look at is the so called “Schnäppchenjägerthread“, a thread in which people post bargain buys. So there was a 10% token for ChainReactionCycles one day and I headed over there to see whether there was an interesting deal to use this for. Almost automatically, I typed “evil sovereign” into the search field and was almost blown away by excitement. They had the brand new 2012 sovereign frame on sale for 346 instead of the usual 725! So we need to “convince” the wife that this is a good idea … Let’s keep it to saying “it wasn’t too easy”, but we could agree on buying the frame. That this frame also needs a new fork was just a matter of seconds though ;) So anyway …

The frame arrived after a couple of days. First look:

Quite obviously, the rose coloured decals had to go. So after a couple of minutes, the frame looked like this:

The bike I wanted to use most of the parts for this build from was the first mountainbike that I bought when re-discovering biking back in 2008: A Ghost AMR 5700.

So after about 6 hours of disassembling the old bike and building up the new evil frame: Here’s what it looks like:

Parts list:

  • Frame: Evil Sovereign 2012 Size M
  • Headset: FSA The Pig DH 1 1/8
  • Fork: Rock Shox Sektor Dual Position Coil 150mm
  • Wheelset: Mavic EN 521 + Veltec DH Hubs
  • Front tyre: Maxxis Swampthing 2.5 2ply
  • Rear tyre: Maxxis Minion R 2.5 2ply
  • Crankset: Shimano Deore 22/36 with an FSA Bashguard
  • Pedals: NC 17 STD I
  • Bars: Nox Crook
  • Stem: Truvativ XR
  • Grips: NC17
  • Brakes: Avid Elixir 3 2011 with 180/180 rotors
  • Seatpost: FSA Gap 420mm
  • Rear Derailleur: SRAM X7 Medium Cage
  • Front Derailleur: Shimano SLX
  • Shifters: front X7, rear X9
  • Saddle: WTB Pure V
  • Chainguide: Bionicon C.Guide V.02
  • Chainstay protection: Schwalbe Nobby Nic

Build was very smooth, no sketchy edges on the frame or anything like that. I think I’ll leave it clean as it is now and not put any of the included sticker sets on the frame. What needs changing is pedals and bars since the pedals are really worn down and changing the pins is not possible any more. The bars are just too narrow. Once you got used to riding 760+, it feels totally weird riding 700 again. I’ve been out for one ride only up to now, so I’ll not yet write anything about how the bike rides. Looking at it though, I feel like I’m in love with it.

Here’s another picture I shot yesterday with the seat lowered so you can get an idea of the flexibility of this frame:

2 responses to “New bike: Evil Sovereign

Leave a Reply

